• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

New to diesels - 6.5L Suburban

Mike Mead

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to diesels and just bought a 1998 Suburban with the 6.5. It runs great and was in great shape for the price $4800 with less than 120K miles.

My question is this. It was 0 degrees here this morning in Wisconsin, so I plugged the truck in on a timer for 4 hrs prior to starting. When I did start it I noticed 2 things.

1.) the low coolant light was on - which went off 10-15 seconds after the truck started. Is that an issue, or normal when using a block heater? The truck doesn't actually appear to be low?

2.) it smoked a bit, and although its a diesel and I expect some of that I wondered when is does smoking signal an issue?

Thanks!

Mike

With these low temps I would recommend plugging it in for all the time you are not drivng it.
This keeps all the engine parts up to temp and is much easier on the little beast upon starting.

The low coolant in and of itself is not a biggy unless it leaking somewhere.
The level will shrink due to the extreme cold.

With the engine warm, bring the level up to the HOT mark in the bottle.
Be careful of removing the top when hot though.

The smoking would be fairly normal for an engine with the amount of miles on the clock you mentioned.

As long as it clears up in a short time all is well.

ZERO is Cold and just tough on any rigs.

Best

MGW

Welcome to the forum!