• Welcome to The Truck Stop! We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your diesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • NO ADS! The site is fully functional and ad free!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER!

Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

gauges for 6.5 turbo diesel???

heavrolet98

Reaction score
Im picking up my first diesel ever this weekend. Its a 97 GMC K2500. It has all the basic mods done and I'd like to install some gauges so I can keep an eye on everything and make sure everything is good. What would be the three gauges you would recommened and where/how would I install them. I am a mechanic and I am very capable I just have never installed any gauges I its a whole new thing for me. Any pics or advice of probe location and what not would be very much appreciated.

Welcome to TTS!

EGT, Trans and boost are good gauges to drive by and for diagnostics, fuel pressure at the IP inlet is also a good one to have.

About 240 for trans temp max.

You must have bought them? auctions are no longer available.

EGT probe is easy to mount under turbo in exhaust manifold, you will see a square pad cast into it. Drill and tap there.

It is on the high side, from what I have read high temps cause cumulative damage.

My gauge shows that as the yellow zone believe it or not.

I think it also makes a difference where the reading is taken from, ie: pan or after the TC. Mine is after.